Our Board

Dr Ros Otzen (Chair)

BA (Hons), BEd, PhD, ASDA

Ros is a passionate supporter of education for all and has chaired The Hester Hornbrook Academy Board since May 2016. Ros was Principal of Korowa Anglican Girls’ School from 1991–2003 and was instrumental in establishing the Alliance of Girls Schools of Australia. Ros was the inaugural President of the Alumni Council of the University of Melbourne is the former Deputy Chair of the Melbourne City Mission Board. Ros is also an author and historian and is currently writing a biography of Hester Hornbrook, the remarkable founder of the nine ‘ragged schools’ in Melbourne between 1859 and 1862.

David Rennick (Deputy Chair)

BEcon, LLB


David brings over 30 years’ experience in the professional services and property industries to his role as Deputy Chair of The Hester Hornbrook Academy Board, which he joined in August 2016 and is a Director on the Melbourne City Mission board. David is currently a Senior Advisor to Inspired Companies where he works with companies to unlock potential from becoming purpose led. His responsibilities include leadership development and coaching. Previously he was Board Member of international law firm Pinsent Masons and CEO of Maddocks. David’s legal expertise includes property development, corporate real estate and retail property. David is also a Director of Melbourne Football Club.


Di McDonald

BAppSc, GradDipEd, GradDipRehab, GradDipBusMgt, MMgt (Organisational Systems), MAICD


Di has an extensive background in healthcare, disability, management and occupational health and safety, and has held a range of senior leadership roles. Di is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and has broad experience in executive and non-executive board positions across privately-owned and not-for-profit organisations. Di is the current Chair of the Melbourne City Mission Board, Chair of the Law and Advocacy Centre for Women (LACW), member of the Cabrini Foundation Board and a Non-Executive Director of The Hester Hornbrook Academy Board since May 2016.


Elida Brereton



Elida has extensive experience as a teacher, principal and educational leader. Elida was a principal in government schools for over 17 years and was National President of the Australian College of Education. In addition to her role on The Hester Hornbrook Academy Board from August 2016, Elida is a Board Member and Chair of the Boroondara Cares Foundation, MLC Kew and Korus Connect. Elida conducts reviews of inexperienced principals and is an executive member of various state bodies including the Victorian Secondary Past Principals Association (President), the National Council of Women of Victoria (Vice-President) and the National Centre Against Bullying.


Louisa Ellum

BA (Hons), DipEd, GradDipEdit&Publ, MComm


Louisa is a vocal advocate for educational access and equity in Australia and currently works at Teach for Australia on the Executive team. Louisa has worked in both the education and mental health sectors and was recently working with Beyong Blue and Headspace. She has also held the positions of CEO of Bayside Glen Eira Kington Local Learning and Employment Network (BGKLLEN), CEO of the International Specialised Skills Institute and Chair/ Deputy Chair of the Youth Affairs Council Victoria (YACVic) Board.


Chair of the Southern Metropolitan Regional Council of Adult Community and Further Education. Louisa is currently undertaking a PhD in Education at the University of Tasmania under Associate Professor Kitty te Riele in flexible learning and partnerships. Louisa joined the Hester Hornbrook Academy Board in June 2017.


Dr Greg Trainor

DBA, MBA, Bachelor of Business Studies, Grad.Dip. Business Studies


Greg has over 35 years’ experience in the private and public sector having held leadership roles in the areas of strategy, logistics, software development and consulting. He has worked in a number of public utilities before joining organisations like GE, Accenture, Sensis and Engie. Greg has been involved as an Advisory Board Member on a number of start-ups and small to medium enterprises and has also been on Faculty in MBA programs at Melbourne Business School, RMIT and Latrobe Business School.


Sarah Rogers



Sarah is a passionate public health professional with a strong focus on children and young people’s health, wellbeing and development. Sarah is an Occupational Therapist with extensive experience across the Health, Education and Community sectors. After completing a Master of Public Health, Sarah has held led multiple health projects and is currently working in Government. Sarah is a member of Safer Care Victoria’s Paediatric Insight Subcommittee and joined the Hester Hornbrook Academy Board in 2020.


Garry Wilkes

MBBS, FACEM, GCertHlthProfEd


Garry is a Clinical Associate Professor in Emergency Medicine with more than 35 years' experience as a medical practitioner in both public and private hospitals across Australia. Garry is a keen educator in a variety of areas including the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine (ACEM) and the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS). Garry's interest include clinical reform, communication skills, leadership development and coaching.


Nate Keily



Nate is a Certified Practising Accountant (CPA) ) and Chartered Global Management Accountant (CGMA) with over 12 years Senior Finance and Commercial Leadership experience at General Electric (GE) spanning many industries including Software, Energy, Healthcare and Financial Services. With Commercial Leadership responsibility across 19 countries within the Asia Pacific region, as an integral member of the APAC senior executive team, Nate motivates and manages commercially oriented teams to meet organisational goals and objectives with a focus on growth and value creation for customers and shareholders alike. Nate is a company director for GE’s Australian software business unit.